Light Years – The New Acoustic EP ‘Lite Years’ Is Out Now!!

Cleveland OH’s very own Light Years are released September 9th via Rude Records Lite Years: a new 4-track, acoustic, digital EP. It also available for streaming on Spotify, find it here.

Following the acclaimed I’ll See You When I See You release (Light Years’ latest studio effort produced by Will Yip), band felt it would have been fun to give a new, acoustic spin to some of their favourite songs from the record, at the same time working on incorporating the whole quartet with some different instruments and arrangements. Band went back to studio then – and the result is Lite Years.

Comments singer Pat Kennedy: We enjoyed reworking the songs we chose off of our last record. We stripped down “Let You Down” and made it more somber than the original version. “The Summer She Broke My Heart” was fun to do because we kept it upbeat and adding the acoustic vibe really makes it feel like a summer jam. On “Accidents” we experimented with different rhythms and using more electric guitars to vibe it out.

Also on the EP is a cover of Bruce Springsteen’s classic “Atlantic City.” Adds Pat: We recorded that song because we think it is one of the greatest songs ever written. If you haven’t listened to the original I strongly suggest you do so! The Boss just plays this with an acoustic and a harmonica and it’s brilliant, but since we aren’t that good we wanted to add a full-band sound to it.


Track Listing:
1. The Summer She Broke My Heart
2. Accidents
3. Let You Down
4. Atlantic City

About Light Years:

Light Years is comprised of vocalist/guitarist Pat Kennedy, bassist Tommy Englert, guitarist Andrew Foerst and drummer Kent Sliney, all of whom have graduated from the teenage angst that fuels most of their peers, instead turning their focus to the problems that face them in their mid-20s.

I Won’t Hold This Against You, their 2013 debut LP released via Paper + Plastick Records, dwelled on the inescapable past while looking for ways to heal the scars incurred while coming of age. Additionally, in 2014 the band released a five-song EP entitled Temporary via Animal Style Records. I’ll See You When I See You, the band’s latest studio album, was released on Rude Records on November 13th, 2015.

Be the first to comment